9 Comments
author

Yessss! Thank y’all for sharing! I’m geeked to listen to these over the weekend.

Expand full comment

My name is Dorothy R. Santos (she/they) from San Francisco, CA. This week (and until I defend my dissertation), TRY by Madison McFerrin. It’s a bop because it reminds me that I gotta TRY. I have to do my best “take a leap of faith...and TRY.” To try despite how scary things feel. The song also seems to go with any situation one might need a little nudge to keep going. It’s been helping me move through this extremely daunting process as I near the end of my PhD journey. ♥️

Expand full comment

you got this. we're rooting for you!

Expand full comment
Apr 7, 2023Liked by Holley M. Kholi-Murchison

Hey everyone! 🥰 I’m Renee Barreto coming from Brooklyn, NY. I’ve had the song “I Hope” by Lizzie Berchie on repeat since yesterday. It’s a bop because it speaks so tenderly to the vulnerability of longing for the longevity of a love, while also holding space for the fact that love must be free... free to change, to decide again, to dance towards and away from one another.

“This is something special

I don’t wanna miss it

I’m feeling celestial

You touching my spirit

You touching my spirit

Promise you’ll be with me

When the seasons

change

I know we can’t predict it

Will we feel the same?

Will we feel the same?

I hope...”

Expand full comment
author

The lyrics though!

Expand full comment
Apr 6, 2023Liked by Holley M. Kholi-Murchison

Hi y'all. I'm Kathy (she/hers) from the Charlotte North Carolina area. My 5 yo and I are really loving Seize the Power by YONAKA (there's a clean edit, or a version with F***). We like to roll the windows down and turn the music up and fierce dance our way to preschool (and work). This song so delivers the energy we need to get us ready for the day.

Expand full comment

New to me song! Thanks for sharing. This BRINGS the energy!

Expand full comment

- Naomi Hattaway coming via Pompano Beach, Florida.

* Song: "also also also and and and" by Moses Sumney

--> It's got the *MOST* sublime vibe and spoken word over some funk! The lyrics are also incredible re: multiplicity and setting boundaries!

Expand full comment
author

Honestly, you had me at the title. LOVE a good Moses Sumney record.

Expand full comment