From Holley, With Love
From Holley, With Love
From Holley, With Love • Monday, 092721
0:00
-13:31

From Holley, With Love • Monday, 092721

Tighten up.

On my heart this week.

Goodness gracious. It took me a couple weeks but I’m finally back in the swing of sending out FHWL on Mondays! This week’s micropodcast is a little longer than normal so I’m keeping the written brief short and sweet because I’m 4 days away from submitting my dissertation (insert body roll here) and I reallllly need to focus!

On the heels of an incredible birthday celebration that I won’t soon forget, this reminder greeted me today...

The message came earlier this month and something told me to write it down and place it somewhere highly visible, so it’s been living on a post-it on my desk. If spring is the season for cleaning out closets to make room, fall is an opportune time for tightening up for the harvest. With regard to family, friends, work, play and all that finds itself at home in between, I’m being called to reexamine and act on what it means for me to do just that.

What I do know for sure is, in all that I choose to devote myself to, who I choose to serve and be in community with, see and be seen by — all of those choices need to be made with love, integrity, care, presence, honesty, consistency, discipline and vulnerability. I’m excited to reinforce how my actions can continue to align with and speak louder than these words.

And you know I’m not gonna chew on a question without offering you a bite as well so, this week I invite you to consider — where can you stand to tighten up a little (or a lot)?

Gifts for your growth.

🌱 Thanks to those of you who’ve completed the FHWL survey thus far! As I conjure up the next iteration of the newsletter, I would love to get to know you better and design it with you in mind. If you’d like to weigh in, the survey is still open, just click here.

💎 On being available for the work you were meant to make.

Writer Casey Gerald discusses not worrying about defining yourself, memory as palimpsest, the importance of having a variety of jobs before you make creative work, and the ways in which our lives are our biggest projects.

Fuel for the week ahead.

🕋 I never need to look too far for inspiration. Powered by the belief that “archiving is a statement of value,” my friends over at the Gates Preserve have been producing some multimedia projects that are changing the way stories are told and culture is preserved. I tried to pick one of my favorite projects but nah — just check out their archival, experiential, and media portfolio and choose your own adventure.

🎧 🎶 The Seven Bops playlist will be back next week but lemme tell youuuuu about this jazz album that’s my “tighten up” soundtrack right now. Theo Croker’s BLK2LIFE // A FUTURE PAST released on Friday and my God, it is delightful. It feels like sonic encouragement. Find it here on the streaming platform of your choice.

Wishing y’all an abundant week ahead. See you next Monday!

Love always,

HMKM

0 Comments
From Holley, With Love
From Holley, With Love
One part micropodcast, one part written digest, one part playlist, FHWL is a biweekly newsletter of practical stories, resources and inspiration for becoming who you are while creating work you love. New editions drop every other Monday on Substack. Subscribe here: