From Holley, With Love
From Holley, With Love
From Holley, With Love • Wednesday, 062922
3
0:00
-13:07

From Holley, With Love • Wednesday, 062922

Make yourself at home.
3

On my heart this week.

🕸️ dusts cobwebs from the screen 🕸️

Hey, beautiful people 👋🏾! Yesterday marked the one-year anniversary of From Holley, With Love on Substack 🥳🎊🥂. Thank you for choosing to commune here with me!

I’m back after a slightly abrupt but much-needed spring hiatus. A lotttttt has transpired since March. I took my propensity for doing the most to new heights and the message waiting for me when I realized I was in the exhausting pattern of overachieving again was — “stop collecting things to do and make yourself at home.”

In this edition’s micropodcast (press play up top ☝🏾 to listen), I share more about my time away and what it taught me about finding focus, relational integrity, minding my business, and what it means to make myself at home. I’ve been clearing my plate to settle in and tend to the places calling me to do that the most like…

  • Our budding homestead here in Winston Salem. The summer garden is in bloom and we’re praying for a fruitful harvest. We’ve got some design and renovation projects in the works, too.

This summer we’re growing sweet potatoes, a variety of peppers, tomatoes, eggplant, melons, cucumbers, and okra.
  • Non-client-facing creative projects that I’ve put on the back burner for far too long like my MSc coursework and venturing into TV with a docuseries I’m developing.

  • Relationships with my Beloveds! That means more trips to visit them and break bread, kiking on the phone for hours, and enriching moments of deep vulnerability.

  • This space, here, with you. I’d like to show up more consistently and better manage things falling through the cracks. So, I got myself organized and created an editorial calendar and project plan through the end of September that’ll help me stick to a biweekly cadence.

How y’all been? What’s calling you to make yourself at home right now?

Come talk to me in the comments (or in my inbox), I’d love to hear from you.

Gifts for your growth.

  • 🌱 Some of you are new here and some of you have been kickin’ it for a few months or more ( 👋🏾💐 and thank you!). Either way, I’m dreaming up new ways to tell stories that add a little value to your world through this publication, and I’d love to get to know you better. Got a few minutes to answer a short survey about FHWL? If so, click here.

  • 📖 Back in March I did an interview with Authority Magazine for their 5 Things I Wish Someone Told Me Before I Began Leading My Companyseries. It was a couple of weeks before the 7-year anniversary of my creative studio, and it felt amazing to reflect on and share what got us here.

  • 📺 Esther Perel’s CreativeMornings talk is one of my favorites. She shares her lens on how relational intelligence can guide us in nurturing our well-being and success both at home and work. I’ve been ruminating on this one for a while.

Fuel for the week ahead.

  • 🍿Can we talk about Everything Everywhere All at Once for a second? IT’S. SO. GOOD. The best movie I’ve seen in a while. I’m still thinking about it weeks later. If you haven’t had a chance to see it yet, watch it in theaters, if you can.

  • In celebration of Juneteenth earlier this month, I connected with Black entrepreneurs on the Upwork platform in a conversation about freedom, interdependence, and the future of work. And I got to share some reflections on work, time, and meaning-making. You can watch the sneak peek below and check out the full discussion here.

  • I’ve been sitting with this edition’s Seven Bops playlist since April. It’s a sexy, sultry, watery vibe that I really enjoy losing myself in. I hope y’all do, too. Listen to it on Apple Music or Spotify.

See you in July ❤️,

HMKM

3 Comments
From Holley, With Love
From Holley, With Love
One part micropodcast, one part written digest, one part playlist, FHWL is a biweekly newsletter of practical stories, resources and inspiration for becoming who you are while creating work you love. New editions drop every other Monday on Substack. Subscribe here: