From Holley, With Love
From Holley, With Love
From Holley, With Love • Tuesday, 090721
0:00
-7:04

From Holley, With Love • Tuesday, 090721

Own your voice, leave your mark.

On my heart this week.

My friend Brian and I made this video back in 2016 to start to tell the story of my creative studio, Oratory Glory.

The business has gone through about six iterations since then, but my intent has always been to produce work that inspires people to deliberately champion their gifts, apply those gifts to spark change, and savor and share the fruits of those choices.

With the help of a fellow wordsmith (hi, Ariana!), OG’s tagline became own your voice, leave your mark. A not so subtle mantra and call to action that I’ve danced with regularly over the years but even more so lately as my most cherished relationships (and my capacity for love) continue to expand.

Work used to be my primary source of love. In my early stages of entrepreneurship, I convinced myself that work would never let me down. I charged up there and rationed how much I was willing to offer in relationships outside of it. Not the most sustainable way of existing in the world, I admit. It worked really well though, until it didn’t. I started to feel empty in places that inanimate objects could never fill. And it forced me to reinvest in human connection with genuine trust and vulnerability. Now that I’m no longer a cyborg and am well-practiced at being emotionally available to more than just the insentient, I’m attracting and giving the most profound love of my life to date. Whewwww, it’s juicy, y’all. My relationships all across the board — platonic, romantic, familial and otherwise — are an overflowing well of generative love. And because I want my legacy to be a reflection of that love; how I work, when I work, who I work with, and what I work on/for is shifting dramatically.

As I explore what it looks like for me to further own my voice and leave my mark, this week I’m leaning deeper into the question:

How can love be the catalyst and currency for how I make choices around work?

Gifts for your growth.

🌑 Yesterday ushered in a fresh new moon in Virgo. It’s the perfect time to plant seeds for the month and season ahead. In my own creative and spiritual practice, I feel the most grounded and on purpose when I’m setting intentions in alignment with the phases of the moon. If that sounds even a smidge intriguing to you, Chani Nicholas always puts together a dope synthesis of the moon’s theme(s) paired with affirmation horoscopes. Check it out here.

🤝🏾 As I wrap up with my dissertation in the coming days, I’ve been thinking about the work I’m most excited about returning to. I really miss supporting folks 1-on-1 with creative ideation, personal narrative development, and charting pathways for the work of their dreams. So, I’m currently scheduling strategic coaching sessions for October and November 2021. My style is hype woman, meets creative & analytical thought partner, meets radically transparent mirror. If you’re interested in learning more about session options, click here.

Fuel for the week ahead.

We’re doubling up on the music this time around:

🎸 One of my favorite musicians, Tom Misch, released an EP called Quarantine Sessions on Friday. It’s the most beautiful project I’ve listened to this summer. I couldn’t choose just one song to add to Seven Bops so I’m sharing the entire thing. Click here to find it on your favorite streaming service.

🎧 🎶 Shout out to my wife, Kholi, for co-curating this week’s Seven Bops playlist with me. Listen to it on Apple Music and Spotify.

Until next Monday, I’m wishing y’all an abundant week ahead.

Love always,

HMKM

P.S. - All past Seven Bops playlists have officially been added to Spotify (thank you, Malori ❤️).

0 Comments
From Holley, With Love
From Holley, With Love
One part micropodcast, one part written digest, one part playlist, FHWL is a biweekly newsletter of practical stories, resources and inspiration for becoming who you are while creating work you love. New editions drop every other Monday on Substack. Subscribe here: