From Holley, With Love
From Holley, With Love
From Holley, With Love • Monday, 020722
0:00
-11:22

From Holley, With Love • Monday, 020722

Bet on yourself.

On my heart this week.

“If one advances confidently in the direction of their dreams, and endeavors to live the life which they’ve imagined, they will meet with a success unexpected in common hours." —  Henry David Thoreau

I’ve been reciting this quote aloud for the past couple weeks. Letting it make a home in my body, in my heart. Especially in light of Dad’s near death experience with COVID1.

Though sometimes jarring AF, it’s interesting how grounding the idea of endings can be. You know they’re coming…but you don’t when…and then one day you’re reminded that it could be any day now. It reorients you to what’s really important. Makes it simple to separate the urgent from the trivial. Lights a fire under your ass. Challenges you to consider what it’ll take to advance confidently in the direction of your dreams.

I’m in the thick of that challenge now and it has me unpacking three big questions:

  1. What am I doing with my time and where am I placing my bets?

  2. Are those bets worth the wager?

  3. How do I gracefully close the chapter(s) on the ones that aren’t?

In this edition’s micropodcast (press play up top to listen☝🏾), in the spirit of telling the most honest stories I can, I share more about how I’m answering those questions, what’s coming up for me in the process and how I’m channeling the courage to bet on myself.

What about y’all — how are you betting on yourselves this week, month, year?

Meet me in the comments and let’s talk about it!


Gifts for your growth.

A shot from me and Kholi’s new Skillshare course for folks ready to bet on themselves and their ideas in the next season of their career or creative practice.
  • Getting to work on projects with my life partner is such a blessing. Today our new Skillshare Chroma Course launches and there’s still a few seats left. Over the next 4 weeks we’ll guide a cohort of creators through the process of moving from idea to execution. It includes weekly live sessions, individualized feedback, and a Slack community to problem solve with.

  • Mailchimp teamed up with Kin to put together this really dope digital magazine called Bloom Season to “help entrepreneurs of color realize their ambitions and rewrite the blueprint for small business success.”


Fuel for the week ahead.

  • ❤️ Me and Kholi chopped it up about love on the latest ep of our boo Katie’s podcast. We got into all the different layers of our relationship as married business partners, moving from codependency to interdependency, and how + why we continue to make a way. Listen on Apple or Spotify.

  • 💐 Paper Monday recently released a short story experience called Halfway North and it’s so damn gorgeous and inspiring. I’ve been texting the link to the homies since I saw it so you know I had to share it with y’all, too. Check it out.

  • 🎧 🎶 Seven Bops playlist is back! Sticking with the theme of betting on yourself, this one is curated to put a battery in your back in any moments when you find yourself doubting your gifts or calling. Listen to it on Apple or Spotify.

Wishing y’all an abundant week ahead.

See you in two weeks for the next edition!

Love always,

HMKM

1

Thank y’all so much for the kind words and love you shared after the last edition. My father-in-lawlove (thanks, Shantrelle ❤️) is officially home from the hospital and in our care until he fully recovers. One day at a time.

0 Comments
From Holley, With Love
From Holley, With Love
One part micropodcast, one part written digest, one part playlist, FHWL is a biweekly newsletter of practical stories, resources and inspiration for becoming who you are while creating work you love. New editions drop every other Monday on Substack. Subscribe here: