From Holley, With Love
From Holley, With Love
From Holley, With Love • Monday, 062821
7
0:00
-16:51

From Holley, With Love • Monday, 062821

Satiating or bust.
7

On my heart this week.

“I only add my talents to the most satiating of situations.”
- Chani Nicholas’ Taurus New Moon horoscope for Leo and Leo Rising

Satiating is my favorite word of the moment. I use it as a filter for decision making and it works wonders. Satisfaction doesn’t have to be negotiable. I kept that in mind when I decided to revive this newsletter. It’s been 6 months since we last spoke and after racking my brain about how to return in a way that feels enjoyable to execute, authentic to me and useful to you, I’m back with a new perspective and format.

Audio meets written.

My goal is to offer insights, resources and inspiration for becoming who you are while creating work you love. So every Monday (starting today), I’ll share:

  1. A micropodcast of what’s on my heart and elaborate on it here (insights),

  2. A hodgepodge of goodies for enriching your creative practice and/or personal development (resources), and

  3. Some creative fuel to help you maneuver the week with more joy (inspiration).

If you haven’t already, press play on the first micropodcast up there ☝🏾.

Gifts for your growth.

🤔 Three Habits That Make Things Complicated

📚 I’m starting my dissertation research in a few days and my friend Tamika put me on to this book called, Research For People Who (Think They) Would Rather Create. It’s a visual guide to thoughtfully approaching and compellingly presenting research. If you’re interested, check it out.

🔑 Last week on Instagram, I celebrated my career development Skillshare class reaching over 10K students and I shared five keys for shaping a Divinely aligned career. Here they are.

Fuel for the week ahead.

Creativity is not coming out of you. Creativity is the work of the Universe. The Universe is a library. All we're doing is checking ideas out…And what you would’ve checked out on one day, might not be what you would check out on the next day...When you got a library card that works, you use that card every day.
- Pharrell Williams in conversation with Steve Stoute

💎 Please take some time out to watch this convo ☝🏾. I’m still marinating on all the gems Pharrell dropped about exercising creativity and answering your calling.

😍 I’m usually an incense girl but I’m in love with this new all-natural candle company, Zeen. Whether I'm working or kicking back at home, the Cohiba joint is my go to fragrance for setting the mood. And the burn time is clutch! Check out their SS ‘21 collection here.

🎧 🎶 I listen to music and exchange songs and albums with my friend Adrian religiously, so recently I started curating these short playlists of my favorite daily songs for the week. I call it Seven Bops. You can vibe to this week’s installment on Apple Music or Spotify.

Ok that’s all for now. I’ll see y’all next Monday!

Love always,

HMKM

P.S - Leave a comment and let me know how you feel about the new format. Are there any topics related to personal development, creative practice or career building that you’d like me to talk more about?

7 Comments
From Holley, With Love
From Holley, With Love
One part micropodcast, one part written digest, one part playlist, FHWL is a biweekly newsletter of practical stories, resources and inspiration for becoming who you are while creating work you love. New editions drop every other Monday on Substack. Subscribe here: