From Holley, With Love
From Holley, With Love
From Holley, With Love • Monday, 071921
2
0:00
-7:52

From Holley, With Love • Monday, 071921

Make fun and you'll always have fun.
2

On my heart this week.

“How much harder/less hard does it feel depending on your approach?”

My therapist posed this question last week and I stopped her in her tracks so I could write it down. It’s not uncommon for me to yell out “Bars!” or “See? That’s why they pay you the big bucks,” during our sessions. She consistently serves up gems that strike me in the moment or boomerang back in the days that follow. This one was a boomerang.

Like I mentioned in today’s micropodcast, I was feeling wildly angsty when I sat down to publish FHWL. From my wife’s parents closing on their home to me starting a new phase of research that I’ve been invested in for years, planning and dreaming about for months, and publicly discussing for weeks — this week feels monumental. But that doesn’t mean it has to be heavy.

A few minutes into writing, I heard a voice say - “This is supposed to be fun.” That voice paired with my therapist’s question up there, and our conversation a few Mondays ago about ease were all I needed to change my approach. I took a few deep breaths, drank some water, did some self-soothing (hugging myself and rubbing my lower back works wonders), then burned my favorite heart chakra incense and got back into the groove.

All it took was that short regroup moment to remind me that creativity and fun are what fuel this newsletter and my life outside of it.

So this week whether I’m freestyling jingles at my desk while I work, riding my bike (affectionately known as Horatio) through Sherwood Forest or making cocktails to commemorate new chapters — I’m committed to having a helluva time.

How are you making fun this week?

Gifts for your growth.

💡 My latest Skillshare Original class, Leadership Communication for the Future of Work went live last week. I share my philosophy on transformational leadership and how you can identify and lean into your own style of leadership communication across a number of everyday work scenarios. You can enroll here and get a free 30-day trial of Skillshare Premium.

💎 Last month on the eve of what would have been Octavia Butler’s 74th birthday, writer and professor Dr. Susana Morris highlighted five lessons that her legacy continues to teach us. Persist is the one I’m holding closest.

Fuel for the week ahead.

🌐 Shuya Gong reminds us that The internet can be a neighborly Welcoming Place For You, if you find the right space.

⚗️ I rewatched this episode of What’s Underneath this morning and Olu Fann’s reflections on identity, piety, poverty and public acclaim were profoundly resonant.

🧇 🥞 Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day…any time of day. When I found out Gastronomical was dropping a plant based, gluten free (but still delicious) waffle & pancake mix, I damn near cartwheeled 🤸🏾‍♀️ over to the pre-order page. I got two of each (ancestral roots + red velvet). If breakfast is your jam, too, you can order them here.

🎧 🎶 We’re a couple days away from Leo season and this week’s Seven Bops playlist will have you channeling your inner lion. It’s waiting for you on Apple Music or Spotify.

See y’all next Monday ✌🏾.

Love always,

HMKM

2 Comments
From Holley, With Love
From Holley, With Love
One part micropodcast, one part written digest, one part playlist, FHWL is a biweekly newsletter of practical stories, resources and inspiration for becoming who you are while creating work you love. New editions drop every other Monday on Substack. Subscribe here: